By L. Marie Wood

Coming in 2023!

Three people living separate lives, unaware of each other with plans that would never make their paths cross… until they did.

Origins, book two of the Affinity Saga, goes back to the beginning finding Nicole, Mark, and Eric before they met each other – before they ever came to be – all the while navigating the mind of a tortured soul who knows more than she should.  Confined within the walls of a psychiatric ward discreetly tucked away in the woods of Tennessee, Patricia’s presence haunts the facility, affecting all who come into contact her and casting a pall that reaches beyond the brick and mortar to caress her estranged husband’s face.

And she’s still angry about what happened.

The second book of a genre-bending experimental series that challenges the way you think about love, life, connection, and purpose, Origins brings forth psychological horror that will cling to you – that will whisper in your ear as you try to sleep, even as it lays the foundation for a beautiful love affair.


About the Author:

L. Marie Wood

L. Marie Wood is an award-winning dark fiction author, screenwriter, and poet with novels in the psychological horror, mystery, and dark romance genres. She won the Golden Stake Award for her novel The Promise Keeper. She is a recipient of the MICO Award and has won Best Horror, Best Action, Best Afrofuturism/Horror/Sci-Fi, and Best Short Screenplay awards in both national and international film festivals. She is also part of the 2022 Bookfest Book Award winning poetry anthology, Under Her Skin. Wood, a BNW-nominated author, has penned short fiction that has been published in groundbreaking works, including the Bram Stoker Award Finalist anthology, Sycorax’s Daughters and Slay: Stories of the Vampire Noire. Her academic writing has been published by Nightmare Magazine and the cross-curricular text, Conjuring Worlds: An Afrofuturist Textbook. She is the founder of the Speculative Fiction Academy, an English and Creative Writing professor, a horror scholar, and a frequent speaker in the genre convention space. Learn more about L. Marie Wood at

Her short story, The Ever After, is part of the 2018 Bram Stoker Award Finalist Anthology Sycorax’s Daughters. She is recognized in The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror, Vol. 15 and as one of the 100+ Black Women in Horror Fiction. For more information, visit




“L. Marie Wood continues to be a force in the world of horror with her unique writing style and her ability to spin a tale that will stay with you long after you have read the last sentence.”
– Midwest Book Review

“Wood has superb pacing and a fantastical flair that has earned her a place among the most inventive horror writers of our time.”
– Somniloquy